The Kanawha County Parks and Recreation Commission is responsible for the operation of the Kanawha County park system. It was created by the Kanawha County Commission through the authority of the West Virginia Legislature. The Voluntary eleven member Commission of appointed by the Kanawha County Commission for six year terms. The Park Commission hires an Executive Director who is responsible for the day to day operation of the park system, under the direction of the Park Commission.

Then Commission meets monthly on the third Wednesday of each month at 2:00pm. Meeting agendas are publicized in accordance with the West Virginia Open Meeting requirements. The Commission has four standing committees: golf, finance, long range and personnel.

The system consists of seven parks with 2500 acres. There are highly developed areas and densely forested areas. Facilities include two golf courses, two pools, a variety of recreational activities, shelter rentals and meeting/reception room rentals.

The Park’s mission is to provide a wide variety of recreational activities and opportunities to a broad range of Kanawha Countians.

View Meeting Agenda

Commission Members

Andrew Jordon
Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Allen E. Tackett
Karen Haddad
Janet L. Drumheller
Dave Pope
Stuart Smith
Steve Koepsel
D. Patrick Donahoe
John Robertson
John Huddleston
Chris Hamilton



Kanawha County Parks & Recreation
375 Henry C Hoppy Shores Drive
Charleston, WV 25302
304-344-2696 (fax)

Jeffrey K. Hutchinson, PGA, Director

Sarah Menefee, Finance & HR Manager

Brad Maschari, Coonskin Facility Coordinator

Chief Amburgey, Police Chief